1: Boat Pose Paripurna Navasana:

(par-ee-POOR-nah nah-VAHS-anna)paripurna = full, entire, completenava = boat

2: Bridge Pose Setu Bandha Sarvangasana:

(SET-too BAHN-dah)setu = dam, dike, or bridgebandha = lock

3: Crane (Crow) Pose Bakasana:

(bahk-AHS-anna)baka = crane

4: Fish Pose Matsyasana:

Traditionally Fish Pose is performed with the legs in Padmasana. Since Padmasana is beyond the capacity of most beginning students, here we’ll work either with the knees bent, feet on the floor, or with the legs straight pressed against the floor. (mot-see-AHS-anna)

5: Half Frog Pose:


6: Half Moon Pose  Ardha Chandrasana:

The moon has a rich symbolic significance in yoga mythology. In hatha yoga, for example, the sun and the moon represent the two polar energies of the human body. In fact, the word hatha itself is often divided into its two constituent syllables, “ha” and “tha”, which are then esoterically interpreted as signifying the solar and lunar energies respectively.

(are-dah chan-DRAHS-anna) ardha = half candra = glittering, shining, having the brilliancy or hue of light (said of the gods); usually translated as “moon”

7: Pigeon Pose Kapotasana:

Kneel upright, with your knees slightly narrower than hip width apart and your hips, shoulders, and head stacked directly above your knees. With your hands, press down against the back of your pelvis.

Share This